The desire to leave a now superfluous or annoying group on WhatsApp often precludes notifying all group members that they have left the group. But WhatsApp is working on a feature that will no longer prominently notify all group members about leaving.
Only group admins will be notified.
Instead, only group admins should be notified when a group member leaves the group. A corresponding screenshot that WABetaInfo is available displays the new feature and the message you will receive in the future if you want to leave a group. Before exiting, the following message is displayed: “Only you and the group admins will receive a notification that you left the group.“. Other users will no longer receive a notification in the middle of the chat that the user has left the group, as is currently the case. If a user has left the group, this will only be visible in the list of group members in the future, because the user is no longer listed there.
Questions and confrontations with relatives, acquaintances, friends or parents of the children’s classmates about why they left the group can be avoided in the future. You can now prevent being added (again) to a group without being prompted in WhatsApp settings.
Feature still in early testing phase
The current screenshot of the feature is from a desktop beta version of WhatsApp, but leaving a group silent will also be available on WhatsApp for Android and iOS. Since the feature is still in development and only recently appeared in beta, it is fully open when WhatsApp introduces it to the general public.
Up to 512 people in a group
WhatsApp recently raised the maximum number of members in a group to 512 and introduced emoji reactions that can be used to reply to someone else’s message without a message of your own.
Introvert. Beer guru. Communicator. Travel fanatic. Web advocate. Certified alcohol geek. Tv buff. Subtly charming internet aficionado.