Tech Gaming Report

Latest Tech & Gaming News

Whatsapp offers a long-awaited feature with the next update

Whatsapp offers a long-awaited feature with the next update

The WhatsApp messaging service wants to improve the privacy of its users. Image: Reuters / Given Ruvic

has been working for a while WhatsApp working on his tarnished reputation with respect to privacy to improve. WhatsApp belongs to Meta, the old Facebook group. At least since the scandal surrounding the dubious data analytics firm Cambridge Analytica in 2018. business A too lax handling of the personal data of its users is accused. Facebook it failed to protect at least 87 million users from Cambridge Analytica access at the time.

Also Whatsapp, according to Statista, around two billion people worldwide and only 60 million of them in Germany use, was repeatedly criticized in terms of privacy. In 2020, the Federal Data Protection Commissioner warned against the application. In Germany, companies can Department For data protection reasons, we have not yet used it for official communications.

To better protect the privacy of its users, Whatsapp is currently working hard on the update screw. After the messaging service already announced the news on MondayOn Tuesday, WhatsApp announced that sent messages can also be deleted two days after they have been sent. Twitter three more news.

New WhatsApp features for more privacy

Later this month, a new update should allow users to leave group chats without showing everyone in the group. Only the group admin will receive a notification.

See also  Android Car: Finally wallpapers! All wallpapers of the infotainment platform can be downloaded right here

Whatsapp also features a “screenshot lock”., which can be used to prevent screenshots of your sent photos or videos. This innovation should arrive soon, says the messaging service, without being specific. However, this only applies to photos and videos that are sent using the single view setting.

The third new feature is one that I am sure many users have been waiting for a long time: soon you will be able to configure that all or only selected contacts cannot see that you are currently online. That was not possible until now. Also, everyone should soon they can decide for themselves who can see when you were last online on whatsapp. Until now, anyone or, by changing the settings, no one can do this. However, it is not yet possible to share online status only with selected contacts.

Again, it is not yet clear when the update will be added. On Twitter, Whatsapp discourages its users with a “soon”.

(nick)