Sunday, August 23, 2026

Installation included to block a partner connected in Google Drive – Harassment and spam: new function to block people in Google Drive

Date:

Agency, Washington

Published by: Dev kashyap
Updated Sun, Jul 25, 2021 12:36 pm

New feature in Google Drive (symbol image)
– Photo: unsplash.com

listen to the news

If you don’t want someone to share files with you on Google Drive, you can now block them. The tech giant has officially announced that it is rolling out a new feature to block people on Google Drive. This is a move designed to prevent possible harassment and spam on the platform.

According to The Verge, Google Drive is now adding the ability for users to lock other accounts from sharing files with them. This feature will be rolled out in the next two weeks. In this function, as soon as one user locks another user, it will also delete the old files of the locked user from the first user’s drive. According to Google’s support page, an option will appear to block any user. Other users shared in Drive can be blocked by right clicking on it. If you want to add it again, then the unlock feature will be there too.

Decision made after many complaints.
The idea came to Google when a news outlet reported that a user shared an abusive folder on their Drive with a friend. It contained objectionable images that the aggrieved user had no permanent option to deal with. After seeing many more such examples, Google decided to offer this new option.

Expansion

If you don’t want someone to share files with you on Google Drive, you can now block them. The tech giant has officially announced that it is rolling out a new feature to block people on Google Drive. This is a move designed to prevent possible harassment and spam on the platform.

According to The Verge, Google Drive is now adding the ability for users to lock other accounts from sharing files with them. This feature will be rolled out in the next two weeks. In this function, as soon as one user locks another user, it will also delete the old files of the locked user from the first user’s drive. According to Google’s support page, an option will appear to block any user. Other users shared in Drive can be blocked by right clicking on it. If you want to add it again, then the unlock feature will be there too.

Decision made after many complaints.

The idea came to Google when a news outlet reported that a user shared an abusive folder on their Drive with a friend. It contained objectionable images that the aggrieved user had no permanent option to deal with. After seeing many more such examples, Google decided to offer this new option.

Toni Morrison
Toni Morrison
Toni Morrison was a celebrated American author whose novels earned worldwide recognition for their depth, artistry, and cultural significance. Her influential works continue to inspire readers and writers across generations.

Share post:

Popular

More like this
Related

Mythmon: Mythic Monsters Launches on PC Sept. 7 With Tactical Monster Battles

Mythmon: Mythic Monsters, a tactical monster-taming hack-and-slash auto-battler from...

Shueisha Games Brings Six Titles to Gamescom 2026, Led by Conquista Reveal

Shueisha Games is preparing a six-title showcase for gamescom...

Feed the Scorchpot Launches on Steam With Dice-Crafting, Recipes and a Hungry Dragon

Feed the Scorchpot, a hand-drawn roguelike combining tabletop-inspired strategy,...

Sensory Overload Launches on Steam With Fast-Paced Rhythm and Precision Gameplay

Sensory Overload, a fast-moving rhythm and precision game from...