You can mute your heavy contacts who continually upload content to this app feature, you can block them so that they do not see what you upload or you can simply see them without them knowing that you have seen them.
Mute someone’s WhatsApp statuses
WhatsApp statuses are not usually as used as other similar ones like Stories from Instagram or even Facebook. But there is always someone annoying who uploads ten, twelve, twenty different stories every day. You don’t have to see them if you don’t want to, but if you leave them unseen there is a notification in the “states” tab that can be annoying. So you can silence someone so that their notification or update does not appear even if you do not see it. For that, you must have uploaded a story before and have it at the moment when you are going to silence it.
It is as simple as going to the history of that person or the “state” and touching on the three points in the upper right. Here we will open a single option “Silence”. So we will not see what that person puts unless we go to the tab “State”. If we have someone muted and they have uploaded something, you will see a dropdown tab at the bottom where you can see those people. You can mute as many as you want and they will always appear there, without the corresponding notification.
How to know who sees your statuses
You can choose who sees your statuses or you can have nobody see them. You can mute or deactivate your WhatsApp Status for all the people who have your number.
Choose who can see them
If you usually upload content to your WhatsApp States, you can decide who can see them. It is easy to control who sees them in an application like Instagram or Facebook, it is you who chooses which friends you accept or which friends you reject and no one else can access the content if you have a private account. But in WhatsApp it is much more complicated that they do not see what you put, since there may be lots of people who have your phone number and that they have been saving it since the first time you had that same number: your classmates from high school, your classmates from university later, your first coworkers, ex-partners, a family you haven’t seen for years and even those people you’ve sold something to on Wallapop and still have their number. Anyone with your phone can see what you put in unless you set it to prevent it.
To choose who can see them and who cannot see them, you can follow a few simple steps from the settings of the app itself:
- Open WhatsApp
- Tap on the three dots in the upper right corner
- Open the application settings section
- And a “Privacy”
- Choose “Status” to decide who sees your information
Here we will see three different options:
- My contacts
- My contacts, except …
- Just share with …
You can choose that only see your contacts added to your agendaLet all your contacts see it except some that you don’t particularly like. Or you can choose one by one the people who can see your WhatsApp statuses. Once you choose one of these options, your full agenda will appear and you will have to mark the different acquaintances that you want to be able to see it.
That nobody see them
If you don’t want anyone to see your statuses, you can. It does not make much sense to upload WhatsApp States if you do not want anyone to see them but you may have your reasons. In that case, just choose one of the options “Status privacy” other than “My contacts”. That is, at the point of choosing who can see them, we can choose between “My contacts, except …” or “Only share with …” In both cases we can make no one see them but what we have to do will vary depending on what you choose. or another.
If you choose “My contacts, except …” You can tap on the icon in the upper right corner to mark them all. By checking all of them, you make that “except” include all the people you have on your agenda so no one will see them. Keep in mind that if you add someone new to your contact list you must follow this step again to mark it as an exception again. So no one will see. There is also another option and that is to choose “Just share with …” Here we will have to do the opposite: do not mark anyone on the friends list and thus you will not have allowed anyone.
View states in a hidden way
You can disable the ability for someone to know that you have entered a WhatsApp Status to gossip. As you have seen in the previous section, when you see someone’s status, you can know who has seen it. Just swipe the story up to see a list of people who have seen that status on WhatsApp. They will generally be friends or acquaintances who have your phone, for example. But of course, the same happens when you see them: if you see someone’s WhatsApp Status, that person will know because it will appear that you have seen them when you slide up, seeing which contacts have pressed to see it. If you do not want them to know that you have seen it, there is a trick from the privacy settings of the application.
To see WhatsApp statuses in a hidden way you can do it once you configure the privacy settings of the messaging application. We will not appear in the list of people or contacts who have seen it, but you must bear in mind that you will not see who has seen yours either, so it is recommended that you activate it only when you are going to see one in a hidden way, but have it deactivated the rest of the time so you can gossip without being seen.
- Open WhatsApp
- Tap on the three dots in the upper right part of the app
- Open the Settings section
- Go to the Account section
- Here, go to the first section: Privacy
- Scroll until you find “Read receipts”
If you deactivate read receipts, you will not be able to see when a WhatsApp message has been received from your contacts, nor will they know when you have read it. But, in addition, as they explain from the app, it would also allow us to see WhatsApp statuses in a hidden way without that person knowing that we have done it.